Gordie Howe among first inductees into Sask. hockey hall of fame

Some of the greatest names in Saskatchewan hockey are being honoured in Swift Current, where the first inductees into a new hall of fame will be celebrated at a dinner event set for Saturday night.

Gordie Howe, Bryan Trottier and Johnny Bower are among the inaugural inductees into the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame.

In addition to famous players of the game, the inaugural list of inductees includes dedicated builders of the sport, a referee and five renowned Saskatchewan teams.

Swift Current's mayor said the hall, while based in his city, will reach out to other communities in the province.

"This is something we're really looking forward to sharing with the province," Jerrod Schafer told CBC News. "The [inductees] dinner is going to rotate around. We want it to be something provincially we're proud of, not just as a city."

A grand opening for the hall will take place later in the summer.

External Links

Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame