cbc.ca (© Copyright: (C) Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, http://www.cbc.ca/aboutcbc/discover/termsofuse.html#Rss)
Updated: Mon, 28 Oct 2013 21:23:17 GMT | By CBC News, cbc.ca

Nunavut election polls closed

The polls have closed in Nunavut's fourth-ever territorial election and the votes are now being counted to see who Nunavummiut have elected to be their next Members of the Legislative Assembly.

Two people have already been acclaimed because nobody else ran in those constituencies. Peter Taptuna will represent Kugluktuk and Jeannie Ugyuk will represent Netsilik.

The remaining 20 seats are up for grabs. With no political parties, the premier won't be known until the 22 members vote on a leader next month. And then that person will name his or her cabinet.

You can follow all the action on our CBC News live chat as soon as there's any news to report. We'll also be live-streaming our election special online, and we'll have an audio stream for those with connectivity issues. So be sure to bookmark this page and come back.

The last time Nunavut went to the polls in 2008, 71 per cent of eligible voters cast their ballots — far higher than the Canadian average.

more video