cbc.ca (© Copyright: (C) Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, http://www.cbc.ca/aboutcbc/discover/termsofuse.html#Rss)
Updated: Mon, 30 Dec 2013 19:30:49 GMT | By CBC News, cbc.ca

Sarah Polley, Blue Rodeo founders join Order of Canada

Sarah Polley, Blue Rodeo founders join Order of Canada

Actor and filmmaker Sarah Polley, Blue Rodeo's Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor, and retired Supreme Court of Canada justice Marie Deschamps are among the latest Canadians named to the Order of Canada.

Gov. Gen. David Johnston unveiled on Monday the 90 new appointments to one of Canada's highest civilian honours.

The Order recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

During the past 45 years, more than 6,000 people from different sectors have been honoured for their contributions to Canadian society.

Montrealer Deschamps, who retired from the Supreme Court in 2012, is among the four new companions, the Order's highest level. She is joined by:

- Donald Mazankowski (Sherwood Park, Alta.), former Conservative cabinet minister under former prime ministers Joe Clark and Brian Mulroney.

- Margaret McCain, New Brunswick's first female lieutenant-governor and philanthropist, now based in Toronto.

- Contemporary composer, music educator and environmentalist R. Murray Schafer (Indian River, Ont.).

Arts figures, philanthropists, activists, scholars and scientists abound in the list.

Veteran Toronto rockers Cuddy and Keelor, and former child star Polley (also of Toronto) are among those named new officers of the Order. Others include:

- Author and visual artist Douglas Coupland (Vancouver).

- Stage and screen actor Colm Feore (Stratford, Ont.).

- Daniel Ish (Saskatoon), former chief adjudicator of the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat.

- Journalist and broadcaster Steve Paikin (Toronto).

- Designers Glenn Pushelberg and George Yabu (Toronto).

- Stem cell scientist Michael Rudnicki (Ottawa).

- Environmental engineer Daniel Walter Smith (Edmonton).

Fashion broadcaster Jeanne Beker (Toronto), bestselling crime writer Louise Penny (Sutton, Que.), and Sobeys Inc. founder and arts philanthropist Donald Sobey are three of the newest Order of Canada members. Others include:

- Family physician Dr. Ewan Affleck, a northern communities medical outreach specialist based in Yellowknife.

- Montreal composer and conductor Walter Boudreau.

- Choreographer, dancer and director Denise Clarke (Calgary).

- Construction executive and entrepreneurial champion Marc Dutil (Saint-Georges-de-Beauce, Que.).

- Jazz musician and composer Phil Dwyer (Qualicum Beach, B.C.).

- Community medical specialist and HIV researcher Catherine Hankins (Sutton, Que., and Amsterdam).

- Retired Banff Centre CEO Mary Hofstetter (Stratford, Ont., and Banff, Alta.).

- Inuit artist Elisapee Ishulutaq (Pangnirtung, Nunavut).

- Vancouver philanthropist Djavad Mowafaghian.

- Actor, director and Soulpepper Theatre Company director Albert Schultz (Toronto).

- Cancer research scientist Ian Tannock (Toronto).

- Sports journalist Marie-José Turcotte (Montreal).

These latest honourees will be presented with their insignias and officially invested into the Order of Canada at a later date, most likely during one of several investiture ceremonies held each year at Rideau Hall.

more video